Adopt a Basenji (short coat)

Basenji (short coat) Dog

Kanzi the Dog needs a home

HI! My name is Kanzi and I need a foster/permanent home where someone is there during most of the day. 



Turn ons: cuddles, any food. ANY food, walks, car rides, nylabones, and a soft cuddly couch and bed to curl up on with my selected human. I love to explore places. 



I also enjoy eating toilet paper (you need to close the bathroom door or I will have fun pulling down the roll), kleenex, napkins (any paper product really is delicious). 



My breed can be independent in thought and I'll listen when I am ready or when you have a treat! Like a cat (or a Basenji), I have the ability to hop up on a stool by the Kitchen Island for you to serve me and also can hop on a table. 



Turn offs: negative reinforcement (positive reinforcements/treats/love only please), being left alone for any long period of time. A bored Basenji is a scary thing. Plus I will howl if I am left alone and isolated. I need companionship to thrive, whether human or canine. I really do want to be your best bud and go everywhere and do everything with you. I want to explore, meet new people, be the center of your world. I'll even go to obedience training with you so we can bond! 



I just celebrated my 8th birthday in doggy daycare! Iwas born on Christmas Eve, 2009. I have a very prestigious bloodline of Kibushi. My daddy was a descendant of Get Sirius who was from Avongara Gangura of the Congo. I'm a magical little girl who could be a movie star!



I am a very sweet girl but as with any Basenji, I can be selective at times with who I wants to buddy up with dog wise. I prefer male companionship, but I am OK with most other dogs. I am used to living in rescue with different dogs always coming in and out. There is only one dog I don't like which is why I need my own home. The dog I don't like is a permanent rescue bonded with another resident of the household. But I have been evaluated to be in a group in doggy daycare and I am socialized weekly with my friends at Barkefellers!



I like going to doggy daycare but I really don't interact with the other dogs as much hang out with the staff or explore. I don't need there to be another dog in the household but would probably do just fine with one.



Really I loves and thrive on human attention. I love new adventures also. I want to live my life to the fullest! 



I want someone home with me most of the time, or to go to daycare or with you! I really will howl or cry if left isolated and alone too often. I need companionship and I don't want to be lonely. Plus, left to my own devices I would get into trouble I'm sure if I was bored. Central Indiana is preferred so the rescue can keep tabs on me and visit me but all applications will be reviewed to determine the best fit and home for me.



I haven't lived with children but I love when they pet me on walks. I think I'd do great with with older kids who would respect her and not man-handle her. 



If interested in becoming my new best friend, please complete the preliminary application found here if you are still interested after doing some research on my breed via google search etc. https://secure.mailjol.net/allforms/u/3a7aa268.php



Characteristics


Loving, playful, independent, strong willed, cuddly, inquisitive, fun, energetic





If interested in Kanzi, please complete our preliminary application found here: 

https://secure.mailjol.net/allforms/u/3a7aa268.php

  • Animal: Dog
  • Breed: Basenji (short coat)
  • Size: Medium
  • Gender: Female
  • State: Indiana
  • Zip/Postal Code: 46259-1705
As of 1/22/2021 Kanzi is still available for adoption. Please use the owner information below to confirm that Kanzi is still available or to adopt. Don't forget to check the other animal shelters near me there are many other pets needing a fur-ever home.

Owner Information

You can find Kanzi at Americas Basenji and Shiba Inu Rescue

If Kanzi is not the right pet for your family you can still adopt a pet.

Find other pets for adoption from Americas Basenji and Shiba Inu Rescue now.